New AC urban poor federation officers inducted

February 08, 2017 - 01:54 pm

ANGELES CITY- Mayor Edgardo Pamintuan has led the induction ceremonies of the newly elected officers of the Angeles City Federation of Urban Poor (ACFUP), Tuesday at the New Legislative Hall, this city.

Kagawad Mario Layug Operaña of Barangay Sta. Teresita was elected as the new president of ACFUP.

According to Operaña, the primary objective of the organization is to unify all urban poor associations in the different barangays of Angeles City.

When asked about the work of the federation he stated that, it is “to consolidate inquiries, coordinate and seek help from the government agencies and non-government organizations (NGOs) regarding problems that urban poor associations of the city face today.  

Committee Chairperson for Urban Poor Affairs Councilor Amos Rivera said that “having a higher body representing the urban poor sector like ACFUP is more practical to the part of the local government.”

“ACFUP is aspiring to aid the city’s programs concerning the settlement of land title issues and disputes through a very active and passionate coordination of the newly elected officials to LUPAHO,” said Councilor Rivera.

“With the existence of the organization, the work will be easier for the city government since it will federate more than 70 urban poor associations in Angeles City,” Rivera added.

For his part, Mayor Edgardo Pamintuan assured that the city will continue its program on socialized housing and urban poor affairs.

In 2014, the city government under the Pamintuan administration facilitated the establishment and transfer of more than a hundred families to Angeles Heights in Barangay Sapalibutad in cooperation with the National Housing Authority (NHA).

ACFUP’s new set of officers also include: Errol Celso, Vice President; Filipinas Cuenco, Secretary; Estefania Tarape, Treasurer; and Merlito Tuazon, Auditor.

LUPAHO will house the temporary headquarters of ACFUP which is located at the 2nd floor of the Angeles City Hall.

Present during the induction ceremonies are Vice Mayor Bryan Matthew Nepomuceno, LUPAHO Officer-in-Charge Jerico Baldemor and Counilors Alexander Indiongco, Dan Lacson, Joseph Ponce, and Jae Vincent Flores.


Back to News
Angeles City Local Government - All content is Public Domain